"Paddle This!" Wins 2010 Wells Fargo Outrigger Challenge

on .

Image Crown Point Shores, Mission Bay, San Diego (April 24, 2010) – From a field of 88 five-person teams, team captain Ryan Goforth and “Paddle This!” were crowned champions of the 2010 Wells Fargo Outrigger Challenge. “Paddle This!” is a three-time defending champion of the Wells Fargo Outrigger Challenge.

The event was held at Crown Point Shores along Mission Bay in idyllic San Diego weather. “Paddle This!” narrowly defeated “Papa Dragon & the Navii Killers” and the “The Flaming C-Nuts” in the three-team final.

Paddlers were also treated to a Hawaiian Luau, which was complete with food from DaKine’s Plate Lunches and beverages from Kona Brewing Company and Dr Pepper. Island entertainment was performed by Kaleo’Onalani Polynesian Dancers.

The racing action was supported by the Hanohano Outrigger Canoe Club. The club provided the canoes, and handled the paddle training and race management.

Other sponsor partners included Wells Fargo, Manpower, San Diego Business Journal, Kona, Bridgepoint Education, KPRI 102.1 FM, San Diego City Beat, Cox Communications, Coach America, Think Blue and Hawaiian Airlines. The Grand Finish Line was sponsored by the Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego.

Terms of Use & Privacy Policy  |  FAQ  |  RedCoat Center  |  Site Map  |  Contact Us

© 2013 The Official Website of The National University Holiday Bowl
The National University Holiday Bowl is a sponsored activity of the City of San Diego,
County of San Diego, and Port of San Diego.

All team names and logos are registered trademarks of the teams and companies indicated.
No logos, photographs or graphics on this site may be reproduced without written permission. All rights reserved.
Website Development and Internet Marketing Consulting by Brand5, a division of The Five Eight Group, Inc.