Pacific Life Holiday Bowl Adds Three to Bowl Hall of Fame

on .

Image At a luncheon today at the Manchester Grand Hyatt in downtown San Diego, three individuals were added to the Pacific Life Holiday Bowl Hall of Fame. Inducted were former Colorado State Head Coach Sonny Lubick, BYU linebacker and current Utah Utes Head Coach Kyle Whittingham, and long-time member of the bowl game’s board of directors, Herb Klein.

Sonny Lubick led Colorado State to three Holiday Bowl appearances. Having lost in his first two in 1994 and 1995, Lubick brought the Rams back to San Diego in 1997 and faced off against the Missouri Tigers. Down three at halftime, CSU scored 21 second-half points to defeat the Tigers 35-21 and give Lubick his first career bowl victory. The victory also gave Colorado State its best record in school history, finishing with an 11-2 mark. Lubick coached Colorado State in the inaugural San Diego County Credit Union Poinsettia Bowl in 2005.

Kyle Whittingham played in the first four Holiday Bowls with the BYU Cougars. After appearing in the inaugural game in 1978 as a running back, Whittingham returned as a linebacker in 1979, 1980 and 1981. Whittingham tallied 27 tackles in those three years, including 16 against SMU in 1980. In BYU’s victory over Washington State in 1981 Whittingham earned defensive MVP honors by recording ten tackles and a fumble recovery. Whittingham coached the Utah Utes in the 2007 San Diego County Credit Union Poinsettia Bowl.

Herb Klein, president of the 1987 Holiday Bowl, has served the bowl since its inception in 1978 and has been an active member of the bowl’s board of directors since 1981. His leadership and tireless efforts on the Pacific Life Holiday Bowl’s behalf are unparalleled. In addition to serving as bowl president, Klein has been an integral member of the bowl’s national strategy, civic strategy, nominating, sponsorship and team selection committees. He was elected by his peers as the honorary chair of the 1995 bowl game.

The Pacific Life Holiday Bowl, in conjunction with the San Diego Hall of Champions Sports Museum, selects the inductees on a bi-annual basis.

The other 23 members of the Pacific Life Holiday Bowl Hall of Fame are:

Bobby Bell, Missouri (1983) defensive end, inducted 1995
Robbie Bosco, BYU (1984) quarterback, inducted 1997
Clay Brown, BYU (1978-80) tight end, inducted 1993
Ty Detmer, BYU (1989-91) quarterback, inducted 2001
LaVell Edwards, BYU (1978-84, 1989-91, 1993) head coach, inducted 1993
Hayden Fry, Iowa (1986-87, 1991) head coach, inducted 1995
Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State (1988) quarterback, inducted 2003
Darran Hall, Colorado State (1997) wide receiver, inducted 2007
Raymont Harris, Ohio State (1993) running back, inducted 2003
Craig James, SMU (1980) running back, inducted 1997
Brian Kavanagh, Kansas State (1995), inducted 2005
Les Land, Holiday Bowl’s first executive director (1978), inducted 2003
Phil McConkey, Navy (1978) wide receiver, inducted 1993
Jim McMahon, BYU (1978, 1980-81) quarterback, inducted 1993
Bart Oates, BYU (1980-82) center, inducted 2005
John Reid, Holiday Bowl executive director (1980-2000), inducted 2001
Bucky Richardson, Texas A&M (1990) quarterback, inducted 2001
Tony Roberts, Holiday Bowl national radio announcer (1979-2004), inducted 2005
Barry Sanders, Oklahoma State (1988) running back, inducted 1999
Bill Snyder, Kansas State (1995, 1999, 2002) head coach, inducted 2007
Tim Spencer, Ohio State (1982) running back, inducted 1995
Leon White, BYU (1982-84) linebacker, inducted 2001
Steve Young, BYU (1982-83) quarterback, inducted 1995

The Pacific Life Holiday Bowl is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization and has a mission of generating tourism, exposure, economic benefit and civic pride for San Diego and its citizens by producing the nation’s most exciting bowl game and festival of events.

The 2009 Pacific Life Holiday Bowl kicks off Wednesday, December 30 at 5 p.m. PST.

Terms of Use & Privacy Policy  |  FAQ  |  RedCoat Center  |  Site Map  |  Contact Us

© 2013 The Official Website of The National University Holiday Bowl
The National University Holiday Bowl is a sponsored activity of the City of San Diego,
County of San Diego, and Port of San Diego.

All team names and logos are registered trademarks of the teams and companies indicated.
No logos, photographs or graphics on this site may be reproduced without written permission. All rights reserved.
Website Development and Internet Marketing Consulting by Brand5, a division of The Five Eight Group, Inc.