2011 Inductees

Major Applewhite

Major Applewhite, Quarterback
Uinversity of Texas, 2001

In 2001, QB Major Applewhite led the University of Texas Longhorns to a 47-43 victory against the University of Washington Huskies in what is considered one of the most thrilling games in the game’s history. Applewhite completed 37 of 55 passes for 473 yards and four touchdowns on way to earning the game’s co-Offensive MVP honors.


Joey Harrington

Joey Harrington, Quarterback
University of Oregon, 2000

In the 2000 Holiday Bowl, Joey Harrington led the Oregon Ducks to a 35-30 victory over the Texas Longhorns, recording 273 passing yards, two passing touchdowns, one rushing touchdown, and one receiving touchdown. Harrington is one of only three players to have recorded a passing, rushing and receiving touchdown in the same game in Holiday Bowl history (Steve Young, Bucky Richardson).



G.E. "Vinnie" Vinson, Board of Directors

One of the founding fathers of the Holiday Bowl, G. E. “Vinnie” Vinson served as the first president of the bowl in 1978. Thanks to the vision and dedication of a determined group of volunteers, led by Vinson, a December San Diego bowl tradition was born. Vinson served as the president of the bowl again in 1979 and then spent the years between 1980 until his passing in 1995 as an active member of the board of directors and the chair of the Team Selection Committee.


Terms of Use & Privacy Policy  |  FAQ  |  RedCoat Center  |  Site Map  |  Contact Us

© 2013 The Official Website of The National University Holiday Bowl
The National University Holiday Bowl is a sponsored activity of the City of San Diego,
County of San Diego, and Port of San Diego.

All team names and logos are registered trademarks of the teams and companies indicated.
No logos, photographs or graphics on this site may be reproduced without written permission. All rights reserved.
Website Development and Internet Marketing Consulting by Brand5, a division of The Five Eight Group, Inc.